STORIFY: The Death of Paul Walker

For my Storify assignment, I decided to cover the death of actor Paul Walker.

I chose to cover this story since it was so current and relevant, having happened only last night. There’s still a lot of confusion over his death so I thought it’d be really interesting to compile all of the conspiracies and reports together so that you could get an overview of what is going on over Twitter right now. I can’t say I was a fan of Paul Walker’s films, other than a select few, but it’s still heartbreaking when a public figure dies. A lot of people idolize them, so you can’t even imagine how they’re feeling about it.  Not to mention how his family must be handling it.

While covering this story, I learnt that you have to know what you’re looking for. When compiling Tweets, there are hundreds and thousands of things that people have said over the past 24 hours. Most of those Tweets were of little importance, too. So I needed to be smart about it, and look at the sources that I figured would have what I needed, then look for reactions to those reports. With Twitter being so instant, I had to go through a lot just to get to results from last night. I had already seen some reactions on my own Twitter timeline, so I was able to pull from their. It’s important to anticipate what you’ll need so that you don’t waste a lot of time just finding a single tweet.

Leave a Reply

